House of Balfour


Lords Balfour of Burleigh until 1715

Lords Balfour of Burleigh in the Peerage of Scotland (1607)

  • Michael Balfour, 1st Lord Balfour of Burleigh (d. 1619)
  • Margaret Balfour, 2nd Lady Balfour of Burleigh (d. 1639)
  • John Balfour, 3rd Lord Balfour of Burleigh (d. 1688)
  • Robert Balfour, 4th Lord Balfour of Burleigh (d. 1713)
  • Robert Balfour, 5th Lord Balfour of Burleigh (d. 1757) (forfeit 1715)
  • Alexander Hugh Bruce, 6th Lord Balfour of Burleigh (1849–1921) (restored 1869)
  • George John Gordon Bruce, 7th Lord Balfour of Burleigh (1883–1967)
  • Robert Bruce, 8th Lord Balfour of Burleigh (b. 1927)


Lords Balfour of Burleigh after 1869

Barons Balfour of Glenawley in the Peerage of Ireland (1619-1636)

  • James Balfour, 1st Baron Balfour of Glenawley (died 1634) younger brother of Michael Balfour, 1st Lord Balfour of Burleigh.
  • James Balfour, 2nd Baron Balfour of Glenawley (died 1635)
  • Alexander Balfour, 3rd Baron Balfour of Glenawley (died 1636)


Barons Balfour of Glenawley

Balfour of Denmiln and Kinnaird in the Baronetage of Nova Scotia (1633-1793)

  • Sir James Balfour, 1st Baronet (c. 1604–1657) Lord Lyon King of Arms.
  • Sir Robert Balfour, 2nd Baronet (1652–1673)
  • Sir Alexander Balfour, 3rd Baronet (c. 1680)
  • Sir Michael Balfour, 4th Baronet (died 1698)
  • Sir Michael Balfour, 5th Baronet (died 1709)
  • Sir Michael Balfour, 6th Baronet (died 1750)
  • Sir John Balfour, 7th Baronet (died 1773)
  • Sir Patrick Balfour, 8th Baronet (died 1793)


Balfour of Denmiln and Kinnaird

Earls of Balfour in the Peerage of the United Kingdom (1922)

  • Arthur James Balfour, 1st Earl of Balfour, Viscount Traprain (1848–1930)
  • Gerald William Balfour, 2nd Earl of Balfour (1853–1945)
  • Robert Arthur Lytton Balfour, 3rd Earl of Balfour (1902–1968)
  • Gerald Arthur James Balfour, 4th Earl of Balfour (1925–2003)
  • Roderick Francis Arthur Balfour, 5th Earl of Balfour (b. 1948)


Earls of Balfour