House of Cust/Brownlow


Barons Brownlow

Cust of Stamford in the Baronetage of England (1677)

Barons Brownlow in the Peerage of Great Britain (1776)

Earls Brownlow in the Peerage of the United Kingdom (1815-1921)


Cust of Stamford

  • Sir Richard Cust, 1st Baronet (1622–1700)
  • Sir Richard Cust, 2nd Baronet (1680–1734) married Anne Brownlow,daughter of Sir William Brownlow, 4th Baronet,  sister and sole heiress of John Brownlow, 1st Viscount Tyrconnel.
  • Sir John Cust, 3rd Baronet (1718–1770)


1st Baron Brownlow

  • Sir Brownlow Cust, 1st Baron Brownlow, 4th Baronet (1744–1807)


1st Earl Brownlow and Viscount Alford

  • John Cust, 1st Earl Brownlow, Viscount Alford, Baron Brownlow (1779–1853), married Sophia Hume, daughter of Sir Abraham Hume, 2nd Baronet, of Wormleybury and Amelia Egerton, great-granddaughter of John Egerton, 3rd Earl of Bridgewater.


2nd Earl Brownlow

  • John Hume Egerton, Viscount Alford (1812–1851) in 1849 assumed by Royal license the surname of  Egerton in lieu of Cust, on succeeding to the Bridgwater estates through his mother.
  • John William Spencer Brownlow Egerton-Cust, 2nd Earl Brownlow (1842–1867)


3rd Earl Brownlow

  • Adelbert Wellington Brownlow-Cust, 3rd Earl Brownlow (1844–1921)
  • Adelbert Salisbury Cockayne Cust, 5th Baron Brownlow (1867–1927)
  • Peregrine Francis Adelbert Cust, 6th Baron Brownlow (1899–1978)
  • Edward John Peregrine Cust, 7th Baron Brownlow (b. 1936)

Cust of Leasowe Castle in the Baronetage of the United Kingdom (1876)


Cust of Leasowe Castle

  • Sir Edward Cust, 1st Baronet (1794-1878) younger son of Brownlow Cust, 1st Baron Brownlow.
  • Sir Leopold Cust, 2nd Baronet (1831-1878)
  • Sir Charles Leopold Cust, 3rd Baronet (1864-1931)

Brownlow of Belton in the Baronetage of England (1641-1678)

Brownlow of Humby in the Baronetage of England (1641-1754)

Baron Charleville in the Peerage of Ireland (1718-1754)

Viscount Tyrconnel, in the Peerage of Ireland (1718-1754)


Brownlow of Belton and Humby

  • Sir John Brownlow of Belton, 1st Baronet (c. 1595-1678)
  • Sir William Brownlow of Humby, 1st Baronet ( c. 1595–1666) younger brother of Sir John Brownlow of Belton.
  • Sir Richard Brownlow, 2nd Baronet (d. 1668)
  • Sir John Brownlow, 3rd Baronet ( 1659– 1697)
  • Sir William Brownlow, 4th Baronet ( 1665– 1701)


Viscount Tyrconnel andBaron Charleville

  • Sir John Brownlow, 1st Viscount Tyrconnel, 1st Baron Charleville, 5th Baronet ( 1690– 1754)