House of Carteret

Carteret of Metesches, Jersey in the Baronetage of England (1645–1776)

Barons Carteret in the Peerage of England, first creation (1681–1776)

Earls Granville in the Peerage of Great Britain, first creation (1715–1776)

Seigneurs of Sark (1715–1720)


Carteret of Metesches

  • Sir George Carteret, 1st Baronet (c. 1610–1680)

1st Baron Carteret

  • Sir George Carteret, 2nd Baronet, 1st Baron Carteret (1669–1695), married Grace Carteret, 1st Countess Granville in her own right (1667–1744), daughter of 1st Earl of Bath. See House of Granville.


2nd Earl Granville KG

  • John Carteret, 2nd Earl Granville, 2nd Baron Carteret, 7th Seigneur of Sark KG (1690–1763)

3rd Earl Granville

  • Robert Carteret, 3rd Earl Granville (1721–1776)

On the death of the 3rd Earl Granville the Earldom of Granville, the Viscountcy of Carteret and the Barony of Carteret became extinct. Under the terms of the will of John, 2nd Earl Granville, the Carteret estates were eventually inherited by his grandson, Hon Henry Frederick Thynne, who took the name of Carteret in lieu of that of Thynne. See House of Thynne

Seigneurs of Sark (1560-1715)

Carteret of St Owen in the Baronetage of England (1670-1715)


Carteret of St Owen

  • Hellier de Carteret, 1st Seigneur of Sark (1563–1578)
  • Philippe de Carteret I, 2nd Seigneur of Sark (1552–1594)
  • Philippe de Carteret II, 3rd Seigneur of Sark (1584 –1643
  • Sir Philip Carteret III, 1st Baronet, 4th Seigneur of Sark (died c. 1672)
  • Sir Philip Carteret IV, 2nd Baronet, 5th Seigneur of Sark (c. 1650–1693)
  • Sir Charles Carteret, 3rd Baronet, 6th Seigneur of Sark (1679–1715)